

**Academic Affairs Meeting Minutes** 

Date: 05/18/2020, Monday 3:30-4:30 PM

**Location: Zoom** 

#### Present (voting members):

John Liccardo (Transfer Faculty) – Chair Michael Hansen (Faculty at Large) Dan Alberghetti (CTE Faculty) Wayne Yeatman (CTE Faculty) Kirsten Hostetler (Transfer Faculty) Amy Harper (Faculty Forum President) Betsy Julian (VPI)

# **Absent (voting members):**

Julia Russell (ASCOCC representative)
Carolyn Schmidt (Classified Representative)

## Present (non-voting members):

Steve Broadbent (IT Representative)
David Schappe (CTE Council)
Jane Morrow (Chairmoot Representative)
Tyler Hayes (Director Admissions & Registrar)
Tim Peterson (Shared Governance Committee)
Vickery Viles (Director of Curriculum & Assessment)
Krista Leaders (Committee Specialist)

### Absent (non-voting members):

**Guest:** 

Owen Murphy

Meeting began @ 3:30

(Note: Approvals and Action items written in red.)

# **Unfinished Business**

- 1. Review Academic Affairs Committee minutes from 2/17/20
  - a. Kirsten Hostetler motioned to approve, Michael Hansen 2<sup>nd</sup>, motion passed unanimously
- 2. Review Curriculum Committee minutes from 2-18, 2-25, 3-3, 3-10, 4-14 & 4-28
  - a. Reviewed

### **New Business**

- Action Item: Advanced Placement Exam (AP) Updates According to SB 207 (Tyler Hayes)— 2<sup>nd</sup> Reading
  - a. Tyler summarized AP Exam updates
  - b. Dan made a motion to approve, Wayne 2<sup>nd</sup>, motion passed unanimously
- 2. Action Item: Sustainability Course Identification Method (Betsy Julian) —1st Reading
  - a. Create a list of courses that meet the Sustainability outcomes and have the list in place accessible to students, like a web page.
  - b. Betsy motioned to approve, Michael 2<sup>nd</sup>, motion passed unanimously
- 3. Action Item: Sustainability Course Taskforce: Recommendations for Learning Outcomes and Criteria (Owen Murphy) 1st reading
  - a. Owen reviewed the work of the task force charges



- i. Define sustainability and the types of courses eligible for the designation
  - 1. The task force referred to multiple resources as well as faculty to define sustainability.
- ii. Types of courses eligible for the sustainability designation
  - 1. Courses meeting sustainability-based learning outcomes are eligible.
- iii. Minimum course content depth or duration
  - 1. No minimum necessary, as long as the course meets the sustainability learning outcomes.
- iv. Learning outcomes that are relevant to environmental and social sustainability and appropriate across disciplines.
  - 1. Courses must incorporate at least one of the learning outcomes to qualify as a sustainability-focused course.
- v. Assessment of learning outcomes (e.g., syllabus inclusion, learning activities, and ongoing assessment)
  - 1. Sustainability-designated courses follow the existing Curriculum/Courseleaf requirements.
  - Suggested edit remove (e.g., syllabus inclusion, learning activities, and ongoing assessment) from charge number 5 and add Inclusion of one or more of the above sustainability learning outcomes in the approved course.
  - 3. Create a rubric to evaluate the alignment of the learning outcome with activities and assessment tasks.
- vi. Utilize existing continuing education resources for instructor training related to sustainability principles and practices
  - 1. Teaching Academy
  - 2. Mentoring between sustainability faculty and those who want to incorporate sustainability content into their courses.
  - 3. COCC visiting scholar program
- vii. Process for approving initial and ongoing sustainability-designated curriculum.
  - Taskforce suggests that initial vetting of sustainability-designated courses is performed by a subgroup of faculty members on the COCC Sustainability Committee. Once approved the course would pass on to Curriculum Committee for final approval.
  - 2. Vickery suggested the process be added to the Curriculum Standards.
  - 3. Suggested edit include in the rubric a list of course materials faculty will need to provide for review every 5 years or sooner after significant curriculum changes.
- viii. Betsy motioned to approve for second reading with suggested changes, Wayne 2<sup>nd</sup>, motion passed unanimously.



- 4. Action Item: Vote to approve Dan Alberghetti as AAC Chair for 2020-21.
  - a. Dan Alberghetti volunteered to be the next committee chair.
  - b. Kirsten motioned to approve, Amy 2<sup>nd</sup>, motion passed unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 4:13 pm.

Next Meeting: is March 2, 2020 3:30 – 4:30, Max Merrill room